Hush my baby

Me: Milin baby, this is going to be your last feed of the evening. Then, I’m going to put you into your cot, while you’re still drowsy but not asleep (because that’s what the baby whisperers say we must do) and you’re going to have a good sleep. I’m not asking for eight hours. In fact I’m not even asking for six. But four hours in a row would be amazing, and I know you can do it. Maybe you could even do five?

Milin: I don’t want you to leave me. Please feed me for a little while longer so I don’t have to stay in this room all by myself.

Me: OK little sleepy one, it feels like you’ve been feeding for an hour. I’m going to sing to you and rock you a while, and then it’s bed time. You’re cosy in your sleeping bag, your nappy is clean and you’ve got a full tummy and got rid of some burps. You’re a lucky little one, and mama loves you very much. “Hush Milin baby close your eyes, hush Milin baby mama’s by your side.”

Milin: I don’t want to sleep, I don’t want to sleep. But, you feel so snuggly, and I’m swaying backwards and forwards and backwards and….NO! Don’t put me in my cot. Please! I need more cuddles! Please!

Me: Oh Little Mister, shhhhhh. I’m here….

Milin: Please get me up mama, I’m so alone in here. This cot’s so big and empty. I was so comfy in your arms.

Me: Ok, one more cuddle.

Milin: That’s much better, I just needed to hear the song again. I love you mama….. Oh, and here’s my bunny, I love him too. I’ll chew a while on his ears, and I’m going to chew on my fingers a little too and close my eyes…

Me: I love you too Milin. Good night.

……

Milin: Mama, I’m all alone, it’s so dark, and I’m so hungry. Where are you? I asked you not to leave me here. Where are you?

Me:  Milin baby, it’s only been two and a half hours. Lets try again to make this your last feed of the night. Then, I’m going to put you into your cot, while you’re still drowsy but not asleep (because that’s what the baby whisperers say we must do) and you’re going to have a good sleep. I’m not asking for six hours. In fact I’m not even asking for five. But three hours in a row would be amazing, and I know you can do it. Maybe you could even do four?

Milin: Yay! I was waiting and now you’re here. You heard me. Here’s a cuddle for you. Now, let’s sit in your chair for a while. Please can you feed me and sing to me? It’s dark, and you look kind of sleepy, but I’m awake now. Mama – don’t fall asleep. I’m awake now. Mama – can I have another cuddle?

Me: Shhhhh, I love you Little Mister, good night.

 

Leave a Reply

